FINAL MINUTES

DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE GULF COAST STATE COLLEGE

June 14, 2017

12:30 p.m.

Private Dining Room

Members Present: Don R. Crisp (presiding), Steve D. Millaway, Katie L. Patronis, Ralph C.

Roberson, and Joe T. Tannehill, Jr.

Others Present: Dr. John Holdnak, Dr. Cheryl Flax-Hyman, Leslie Hapner,

Glen McDonald, John Mercer, Dottie Terryn, and Eileen Wilkes

(recording)

1. Call to Order Mr. Crisp called the meeting to order at 12:45 p.m.

2. Budget Update Mr. Crisp called on Dr. Holdnak to present the proposed 2017-18 Gulf

Coast State College Unrestricted Current Fund Budget to the Committee. Dr. Holdnak presented a summary of the 2017-18 Budget Assumptions,

2017-18 Proposed Budgets, and 2017-18 Deleted Positions.

Highlights of the proposed 2017-18 budget include:

- No tuition or fee increase.
- Enrollment based on 2016-17 actuals through May 2017.
- Actual state appropriations from the 2017-18 General Appropriations Act.
- Estimated Industry Certification Funds for 2017-18
- Personnel: includes an 8 percent increase in insurance beginning in January 2018 and includes no increase in salaries.
- The 2017-18 budget includes the elimination of fifteen permanent positions and two part-time student ambassador positions. It also includes the transfer of two full-time and one part-time position to alternative funding sources.
- Current expense based on 2016-17 actual expenditures, reduced by elimination of non-essential expenditures and closed programs.
- Capital expense: reduced for expenditures funded by performance based funding that has not been awarded for 2017-18.
- Contingencies: personnel \$100,000, current expense \$100,000, capital outlay \$100,000.

GCSC DBOT Budget and Finance Committee

Following discussion of the proposed 2017-18 College Unrestricted Current Fund ("General Operating Fund") Budget, Mr. Roberson moved and Mr. Tannehill seconded a motion to accept it as presented and recommend it for approval to the full board at the next regular meeting on June 29, 2017. The vote was recorded as follows: Millaway, aye; Patronis, aye; Roberson, aye; Tannehill, aye; and Crisp, aye.

		,	; Roberson, aye; Tannehill, aye; and Crisp, aye.			
3.	Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 1:48 p.m.					
Secretary					Chair, District Board of Trust	ees