Menu

2019-2020 Health Information Management Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 1105 College Algebra 3
ACG 2001 Financial Accounting I 3
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
ACG 2011 Financial Accounting II 3
General Education: Physical Science 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
ACG 2071 Managerial Accounting 3
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
General Education: History 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 16

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
ELECTIVE 1
Total 14

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 1105 College Algebra 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2001 Financial Accounting I 3
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2011 Financial Accounting II 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2071 Managerial Accounting 3
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ELECTIVE 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 6

Year Four

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Physical Science
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Health Information Management Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
+*Approved mathematics (MAC) 3
•+*STA2023, Statistics 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement 3
Biological Science +*BSC2085, Anatomy and Physiology I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012 or •SYG2000 Psychology/Sociology 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
*ACG2001, Financial Accounting I 3
+*ACG2011, Financial Accounting II 3
*ACG2071, Managerial Accounting 3
CGS1570, Microcomputer Applications 3
+*BSC2086, Anatomy and Physiology II 3
Additional Requirements
BSC2085L, Anatomy and Physiology I Lab 1
BSC2086L, Anatomy and Physiology II Lab 1
ElectivesElectives7

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

This program is designed to prepare students for upper division studies in health information management at the state universities of FAMU, FIU, and UCF. Graduates of the B.S. degree will design, implement, and maintain health information systems, records, and statistics.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

BUSINESS & TECHNOLOGY DIVISION

Gulf Coast’s Division of Business and Technology is located in the Advanced Technology Center on the Panama City, Florida campus. Contact the division office for questions related to your educational goals. For questions regarding program requirements, please contact your advisor. Please direct lab- and class-specific questions to the instructor for your class.

Business and Technology Division
Advanced Technology Center (ATC) 103
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401-1058
850-872-3875
Fax: 850-767-8084 

Business and Technology Division Website

Our faculty and staff are ready to answer questions about your program requirements and next steps.

Melanie Boyd (mboyd@gulfcoast.edu)
Chair, Business and Technology
Panama City Campus
Advanced Technology Center (ATC) 102
850-872-3839

Nancy Berdanier (nberdanie@gulfcoast.edu)
Administrative Assistant
Panama City Campus
Advanced Technology Center (ATC) 103
850-872-3875

Business & Technology Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Antonio Adessi Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5887 aadessi@gulfcoast.edu
Kim Allan Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4022 kallan@gulfcoast.edu
Paul Ashman Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5852 pashman@gulfcoast.edu
Melanie Boyd Professor (850) 872-3839 ext. 3839 mboyd@gulfcoast.edu
Denise Crider Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2848 dcrider@gulfcoast.edu
Dennis Dillenschneider (850) 769-1551 ext. 2817 ddillensc@gulfcoast.edu
Erika Goines Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5886 egoines@gulfcoast.edu
Emmanuel Hernandez Agosto Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2845 ehernand3@gulfcoast.edu
Matthew Herndon Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2846 mherndon@gulfcoast.edu
Alan Jeffries Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4051 ajeffries@gulfcoast.edu
David Lee (850) 769--1551 ext. -1551 dlee15@gulfcoast.edu
Jose Lopez-Baquero Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4012 jlopezbaq@gulfcoast.edu
Wendy Payne Professor (850) 872-3876 ext. 3876 wpayne@gulfcoast.edu
Tonitta Sauls Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5090 tsauls@gulfcoast.edu
Tracy Sewell Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4826 tsewell@gulfcoast.edu
Stephen Withall (850) 769-1551 ext. 4019 swithall@gulfcoast.edu
Top