Menu

Nursing, B.S.N.

Nursing B.S.N.

Communications Area  CH
 •+*ENC1101, English I 3
 +*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
 •+*STA2023, Statistics 3
 Approved College-level Math (MAC/MGF) 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science CHM1032, General, Organic, Biochemistry or higher level chemistry (CHM 1040 & 1045 are acceptable) 3
Biological Science +BSC2085, Anatomy and Physiology 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012 or •SYG2000, Psychology/Sociology 3
History EUH1000 or 1001, Western Civilization 3
Government •POS2041, American National Government 3
Associate Degree/Diploma in Nursing
 Associate Degree/Diploma in Nursing 48
Core Courses
 *NUR3069, Advanced Health Assessment 3
 *NUR3119, Nursing Concepts and Theories 3
 *NUR3128, Pathophysiology 3
 +*NUR3167, Research Process for Professional Nursing 3
 *NUR3895, Teaching and Learning for the Healthcare Professional 3
 *NUR3636C, Community Health 4
 *NUR3925, Symposium I 1
 *NUR4655, Multicultural Factors in Health 3
 *NUR4827C, Leadership and Management 4
 +*NUR4925, Symposium II 1
 *NUR4837, Health Care Policy and Economics 3
 *NUR4847, Clinical Decision Making 3
 *NUR4945C, Nursing Capstone Practicum 2
Total Degree Hours 120

• General Education Core.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

# Applies to A.S. degree and certificate programs.

= PSAV course.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Health Sciences

Health Sciences is the largest academic division at Gulf Coast State College, with over 600 students enrolled in health-related programs.  The George G. Tapper Health Sciences Building is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment, laboratories, and a live patient dental clinic to enhance the learning process.

Health Sciences faculty and staff want you to succeed. Instructors are licensed practitioners who are dedicated to helping you become proficient in the patient-care arena of your choosing. Reach out to the program contact in your area with questions or concerns.

Health Sciences Division Website

Registered Nursing, Nursing AA, Certified Nursing Assistant
Dr. Martha Ruder
850-913-3314

Licensed Practical Nurse
Debbie Brzuska
850-913-3317

Dental Assisting
Laurie Womble
850-747-3217

Dental Hygiene
Kim Guilford
850-747-3244

Medical Imaging Programs (Radiography, Sonography, Nuclear Medicine)
DeeAnn VanDerSchaaf
850-913-3318

Physical Therapist Assistant
Dr. Melinda Cumbaa
850-913-3312

RN-to-BSN
Dr. Randy Chitwood
850-913-3262

Respiratory Therapy
Katrina Reese
850-872-3837

Surgical Services
Libby McNaron
850-873-3551

Pharmacy Technician
Keith Owens
850-769-1551, ext. 5877

Health Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Kimberly Awls Instructor ext. kawls@gulfcoast.edu
Michelle Barber Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5881 mbarber@gulfcoast.edu
Deborah Brzuska Associate Professor (850) 913-3317 ext. 3317 dbrzuska@gulfcoast.edu
Vicki Bynum Instructor (850) 873-3591 ext. 3591 vbynum@gulfcoast.edu
Randall Chitwood Professor (850) 913-3262 ext. 3262 rchitwood@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Collier Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5838 jcollier@gulfcoast.edu
Melinda Cumbaa Associate Professor (850) 913-3312 ext. 3312 mcumbaa@gulfcoast.edu
Donna Darling Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5830 ddarling@gulfcoast.edu
Mark Davis Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6102 mdavis22@gulfcoast.edu
Angila Dean Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5510 adean@gulfcoast.edu
Suzanne Deaton Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2819 sdeaton@gulfcoast.edu
Nancy Gibson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5841 ngibson2@gulfcoast.edu
Kimbally Guilford Associate Professor (850) 747-3244 ext. 3244 kguilford@gulfcoast.edu
Glenda Hannah Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5843 ghannah@gulfcoast.edu
Jerrie Kirksey Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5833 jkirksey@gulfcoast.edu
Sabrina Kuhn Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5888 skuhn@gulfcoast.edu
Rebecca Leach Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5840 rleach@gulfcoast.edu
Keri Matheus Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3238 kmatheus@gulfcoast.edu
Mary McNaron Professor (850) 873-3551 ext. 3551 lmcnaron@gulfcoast.edu
Katrina Reese Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3837 kreese@gulfcoast.edu
Martha Ruder Professor (850) 913-3314 ext. 3314 mruder@gulfcoast.edu
Miranda Stewart Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5802 mstewart@gulfcoast.edu
Carol Strasburger-Miller Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3360 cmiller@gulfcoast.edu
Shelly Thornton Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5834 sthornto3@gulfcoast.edu
Dee Ann Van Der Schaaf Associate Professor (850) 913-3318 ext. 3318 dvanderschaaf@gulfcoast.edu
Kelli Walsingham Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6180 kwalsingham@gulfcoast.edu
April Wilson-Page Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5817 apage4@gulfcoast.edu
Lauriann Womble Assistant Professor (850) 747-3217 ext. 3217 lwomble@gulfcoast.edu
Top