Menu

2022-2023 Nursing Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 16

Semester-2

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
DEP 2004 Developmental Psychology 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 16

Year Two

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
MCB 2004 Microbiology 3
MCB 2004L Microbiology Laboratory 1
ELECTIVE 6
Total 13

Semester-2

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion
CHM 1032 Gen/Organic/Biochemistry 3
ELECTIVE 3
General Education: History 3
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
Total 15

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
Total 6

Semester-2

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
PSY 2012 General Psychology 3
Total 6

Semester-Summer

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: History 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts
Total 6

Year Two

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
General Education: Literature 3
Total 7

Semester-2

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
Total 7

Semester-Summer

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ELECTIVE 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 6

Year Three

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Mathematics 3
MCB 2004 Microbiology 3
MCB 2004L Microbiology Laboratory 1
Total 7

Semester-2

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion
DEP 2004 Developmental Psychology 3
Total 6

Semester-Summer

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
SYG 2000 Principles of Sociology 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Year Four

Semester-1

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1032 Gen/Organic/Biochemistry 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Nursing Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*STA2023, Statistics 3
See General Education Requirement 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science CHM1032, Gen, Organic, Biochemistry or higher 3
Biological Science •+BSC2085, Anatomy and Physiology I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012, Psychology or •SYG2000, Sociology 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
BSC2085L, Anatomy and Physiology I Lab 1
+BSC2086, Anatomy and Physiology II 3
BSC2086L, Anatomy and Physiology II Lab 1
HUN1201, Nutrition 3
+MCB2004, Microbiology 3
MCB2004L, Microbiology Lab 1
DEP2004, Developmental Psychology 3
Electives
Electives 9

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

Most Florida BSN programs require a foreign language prior to entry.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

@ Civic Literacy.

Health Sciences and Nursing

The Health Sciences and Nursing Divisions at Gulf Coast State College, have over 600 students enrolled in health-related programs.  The George G. Tapper Health Sciences Building is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment, laboratories, and a live patient dental clinic to enhance the learning process.

All Instructors are licensed and/or certified practitioners who are dedicated to helping you succeed in your chosen career field. Reach out to the program contact in your area with questions or concerns.

Health Sciences and Nursing Divisions Website

Health Sciences and Nursing Faculty

Health Sciences

Dental Assisting
Laurie Womble
850-747-3217

Dental Hygiene
Miranda Stewart
850-747-3244

Physical Therapist Assistant
Dr. Melinda Cumbaa
850-913-3312

Radiography
Lacy Newson
850-913-3318

Respiratory Care
Jennifer Barber
850-872-3837

Sonography
Janice Skipper
850-769-1551 ext. 3390

Surgical Services
Shannon Smith
850-873-3551

Division Chair
Laura Justice, CDA, RDH, MSED
850-872-3828

Nursing

Licensed Practical Nurse and Certified Nursing Assistant
Debbie Brzuska
850-913-3317

Registered Nursing and AA
Dr. Martha Ruder
850-913-3314

RN-to-BSN
Dr. Randy Chitwood
850-913-3262

Division Chair
Dr. Keri Matheus
850-772-6695

Health Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Kimberly Awls Assistant Professor (850) 747-3248 ext. 3248 kawls@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Barber Assistant Professor (850) 872-3837 ext. 3837 jbarber@gulfcoast.edu
Deborah Brzuska Professor (850) 913-3317 ext. 3317 dbrzuska@gulfcoast.edu
Vicki Bynum Instructor (850) 873-3591 ext. 3591 vbynum@gulfcoast.edu
Randall Chitwood Professor (850) 913-3262 ext. 3262 rchitwood@gulfcoast.edu
Melinda Cumbaa Professor (850) 913-3312 ext. 3312 mcumbaa@gulfcoast.edu
Sabrina Elliott Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5888 selliott7@gulfcoast.edu
Nancy Gibson Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5841 ngibson2@gulfcoast.edu
Melissa Hobbs Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5521 mhobbs2@gulfcoast.edu
Laura Justice Professor (850) 872-3828 ext. 3828 ljustice@gulfcoast.edu
Christine Katzberger Assistant Professor ext. ckatzberg@gulfcoast.edu
Rebecca Kelly Assistant Professor (850) 769--1551 ext. -1551 rkelly@gulfcoast.edu
Denise Kenny Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3238 dkenny1@gulfcoast.edu
Jerrie Kirksey Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5833 jkirksey@gulfcoast.edu
Ada Kutina Assistant Professor ext. akutina@gulfcoast.edu
Lacy Newsom Assistant Professor (850) 913-3318 ext. 3318 lnewsom@gulfcoast.edu
Megan Olson Assistant Professor ext. molson4@gulfcoast.edu
Adam Padgett Instructor ext. apadgett@gulfcoast.edu
Brittany Page Instructor ext. bpage2@gulfcoast.edu
Theresa Porter Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5835 tporter1@gulfcoast.edu
Martha Ruder Professor (850) 913-3314 ext. 3314 mruder@gulfcoast.edu
Janice Skipper Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3390 jskippe10@gulfcoast.edu
Shannon Smith Instructor ext. ssmith@gulfcoast.edu
Kimberly Snow Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5817 ksnow1@gulfcoast.edu
Emily Speakman Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5846 espeakma1@gulfcoast.edu
Miranda Stewart Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3244 mstewart@gulfcoast.edu
Carol Strasburger-Miller Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3360 cmiller@gulfcoast.edu
Shelly Thornton Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5834 sthornto3@gulfcoast.edu
Elyse Wallace (850) 769-1551 ext. 5597 ewallace6@gulfcoast.edu
Lauriann Womble Assistant Professor (850) 747-3217 ext. 3217 lwomble@gulfcoast.edu
Top