Menu

Nutrition, Food, and Exercise Science Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra 3
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
Total 14

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
CHM 1046 Gen Chem & Qual Analysis 3
CHM 1046L Gen Chem & Qual Analysis Lab 2
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
CHM 2210 Organic Chemistry I 3
CHM 2210L Organic Chemistry Laboratory 2
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 16

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
MCB 2004 Microbiology 3
General Education: History 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
Total 15

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: History 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
General Education: Literature 3
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1046 Gen Chem & Qual Analysis 3
CHM 1046L Gen Chem & Qual Analysis Lab 2
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
Total 8

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 2210 Organic Chemistry I 3
CHM 2210L Organic Chemistry Laboratory 2
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
Total 8

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2086 Human Anat/Phy II 3
BSC 2086L Human Anat/Phy II Lab 1
MCB 2004 Microbiology 3
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 6

Nutrition, Food, and Exercise Science Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*MAC1105, College Algebra 3
+*MAC1140, Precalculus Algebra 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science •+* 1BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
•+BSC2085, Anatomy and Physiology I 3
BSC2085L, Anatomy and Physiology I Lab 1
+BSC2086, Anatomy and Physiology II 3
BSC2086L, Anatomy and Physiology II Lab 1
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
+CHM1046, Gen Chem/Qual Analysis 3
CHM1046L, Gen Chem/Qual Analysis Lab 1
+CHM2210, Organic Chemistry 3
CHM2210L, Organic Chemistry Lab 1
HUN1201, Principles of Nutrition 3
MCB2004, Microbiology 3
MCB2004L, Microbiology Lab 1

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

1Lab not required, but highly recommended.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Health Sciences

Health Sciences is the largest academic division at Gulf Coast State College, with over 600 students enrolled in health-related programs.  The George G. Tapper Health Sciences Building is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment, laboratories, and a live patient dental clinic to enhance the learning process.

Health Sciences faculty and staff want you to succeed. Instructors are licensed practitioners who are dedicated to helping you become proficient in the patient-care arena of your choosing. Reach out to the program contact in your area with questions or concerns.

Health Sciences Division Website

Registered Nursing, Nursing AA, Certified Nursing Assistant
Dr. Martha Ruder
850-913-3314

Licensed Practical Nurse
Debbie Brzuska
850-913-3317

Dental Assisting
Laurie Womble
850-747-3217

Dental Hygiene
Miranda Stewart
850-747-3244

Medical Imaging Programs (Radiography, Sonography, Nuclear Medicine)
DeeAnn VanDerSchaaf
850-913-3318

Physical Therapist Assistant
Dr. Melinda Cumbaa
850-913-3312

RN-to-BSN
Dr. Randy Chitwood
850-913-3262

Respiratory Therapy
Julia Thomas
850-872-3837

Surgical Services
Libby McNaron
850-873-3551

Health Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Kimberly Awls Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3248 kawls@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Barber ext. jbarber@gulfcoast.edu
Michelle Barber Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5881 mbarber@gulfcoast.edu
Deborah Brzuska Associate Professor (850) 913-3317 ext. 3317 dbrzuska@gulfcoast.edu
Vicki Bynum Instructor (850) 873-3591 ext. 3591 vbynum@gulfcoast.edu
Randall Chitwood Professor (850) 913-3262 ext. 3262 rchitwood@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Collier Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5838 jcollier@gulfcoast.edu
Melinda Cumbaa Associate Professor (850) 913-3312 ext. 3312 mcumbaa@gulfcoast.edu
Lacy Curl (850) 769-1551 ext. 5846 lcurl@gulfcoast.edu
Suzanne Deaton Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2819 sdeaton@gulfcoast.edu
Sabrina Elliott Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5888 selliott7@gulfcoast.edu
Nancy Gibson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5841 ngibson2@gulfcoast.edu
Glenda Hannah Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5843 ghannah@gulfcoast.edu
Melissa Hobbs Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5521 mhobbs2@gulfcoast.edu
Laura Justice Professor (850) 872-3828 ext. 3828 ljustice@gulfcoast.edu
Scot Kirkland Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6102 skirkland@gulfcoast.edu
Jerrie Kirksey Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5833 jkirksey@gulfcoast.edu
Rebecca Leach Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5840 rleach@gulfcoast.edu
Keri Matheus Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3238 kmatheus@gulfcoast.edu
Mary McNaron Professor (850) 873-3551 ext. 3551 lmcnaron@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Otto Assistant Professor ext. jotto@gulfcoast.edu
Kayla Roberts Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5510 krobert14@gulfcoast.edu
Martha Ruder Professor (850) 913-3314 ext. 3314 mruder@gulfcoast.edu
Miranda Stewart Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5802 mstewart@gulfcoast.edu
Carol Strasburger-Miller Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3360 cmiller@gulfcoast.edu
Julia Thomas (850) 769-1551 ext. 5835 jthomas7@gulfcoast.edu
Shelly Thornton Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5834 sthornto3@gulfcoast.edu
Dee Ann Van Der Schaaf Associate Professor (850) 913-3318 ext. 3318 dvanderschaaf@gulfcoast.edu
Kelli Walsingham Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6180 kwalsingham@gulfcoast.edu
Rhonda Weatherbie-McLouth Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5802 rweatherb@gulfcoast.edu
April Wilson-Page Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5817 apage4@gulfcoast.edu
Lauriann Womble Assistant Professor (850) 747-3217 ext. 3217 lwomble@gulfcoast.edu
Top