Menu

English Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

English Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area 6
See General Education Requirement
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites

Electives

24

Option 1: Electives, 24 crs. Recommended electives: Further English, Literature, and/or writing courses taught in the Language and Literature Division.
Option 2: EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession, 3 crs. EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators, 3 crs. EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators, 3 crs. Electives, 12 crs.

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Language and Literature

If you are a student who has not yet declared a concentration or who has declared a concentration in Communications, English, Foreign Language, or Journalism, you will be advised by professors from the Language and Literature Division.

Division Mission: The Division of Language and Literature provides training in written and oral communication in English and foreign languages in order to engage students as critical thinkers, effective communicators, and good citizens.

DIVISION CONTACT INFORMATION:

Language and Literature Division Website

Gulf Coast State College
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401-1058
Phone: (850) 769-1551 ext. 3870
FAX: (850) 873-3522

Division Chair: Michalle Barnett
Senior Administrative Assistant: Julia Chrencik

Language & Literature Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Michalle Barnett Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2886 mbarnett@gulfcoast.edu
Matthew Brock Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2871 mbrock6@gulfcoast.edu
Amber Clark Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2872 aclark@gulfcoast.edu
Deicy Jimenez-Orozco Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2880 djimenez@gulfcoast.edu
Betty McKinnie Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2887 bmckinnie@gulfcoast.edu
Jason Mitchell Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2877 jpmitchell@gulfcoast.edu
Tabitha Parker Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2875 tparker5@gulfcoast.edu
Sarah Pilcher (850) 769-1551 ext. 2883 spilcher@gulfcoast.edu
Sandra Pugh Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2879 spugh@gulfcoast.edu
Katherine Riley Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2881 kriley4@gulfcoast.edu
Henry Smith Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2873 hsmith@gulfcoast.edu
Douglas Wells Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2884 dwells@gulfcoast.edu
Matthew Wells Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2882 mwells6@gulfcoast.edu
Kelly Williams Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3515 kwillia19@gulfcoast.edu

Year One

First Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1101 English Composition I

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Second Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1102 English Composition II

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Summer Semester

  • General Education: Visual and Performing Arts
  • General Education: Behavioral Science

  • Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

  • General Education: Mathematics

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Second Semester

  • General Education: Mathematics

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Summer Semester

  • General Education: Literature

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

  • General Education: Biological Science

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6

Second Semester

  • General Education: History
  • General Education: Philosophy/Religion

  • Total 6

Summer Semester

  • General Education: Physical Science
  • General Education: Government

  • Total 6

Year Four

First Semester

  • General Education: Behavioral Science

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 6
Top