pixel
Menu

Foreign Language Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Foreign Language 4
ELECTIVE 3
Total 16

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Physical Science 3
ELECTIVE 3
Foreign Language 4
Total 16

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
Foreign Language 4
General Education: Biological Science 3
General Education: History 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
Total 16

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
Foreign Language 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 13

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Biological Science 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Foreign Language 4
ELECTIVE 3
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Foreign Language 4
ELECTIVE 3
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Foreign Language 4
General Education: Physical Science
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Foreign Language 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 9

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
Total 6

Foreign Language Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area 6
See General Education Requirement
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
OPTION 1: Spanish/French Foreign Language, 15 crs. Electives, 9 crs. OPTION 2: Foreign Languages Teacher Education Foreign Language, 15 crs.EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession, 3 crs.EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators, 3 crs.(In addition to EDF2085, a minimum of 6 semester hours with an international diversity focus is required. Foreign language courses may be used to meet this requirement.)EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators, 3 crs. 24

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Language and Literature

If you are a student who has not yet declared a concentration or who has declared a concentration in Communications, English, Foreign Language, or Journalism, you will be advised by professors from the Language and Literature Division.

Division Mission: The Division of Language and Literature provides training in written and oral communication in English and foreign languages in order to engage students as critical thinkers, effective communicators, and good citizens.

DIVISION CONTACT INFORMATION:

Language and Literature Division Website

Gulf Coast State College
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401-1058
Phone: (850) 769-1551 ext. 3870
FAX: (850) 873-3522

Division Chair: Michalle Barnett
Senior Administrative Assistant: Julia Chrencik

Language & Literature Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Michalle Barnett Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2886 mbarnett@gulfcoast.edu
Matthew Brock Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2871 mbrock6@gulfcoast.edu
Amber Clark Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2872 aclark@gulfcoast.edu
Deicy Jimenez-Orozco Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2880 djimenez@gulfcoast.edu
Betty McKinnie Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2887 bmckinnie@gulfcoast.edu
Jason Mitchell Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2877 jpmitchell@gulfcoast.edu
Sarah Pilcher (850) 769-1551 ext. 2883 spilcher@gulfcoast.edu
Sandra Pugh Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2879 spugh@gulfcoast.edu
Katherine Riley Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2881 kriley4@gulfcoast.edu
Henry Smith Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2873 hsmith@gulfcoast.edu
Douglas Wells Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2884 dwells@gulfcoast.edu
Matthew Wells Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2882 mwells6@gulfcoast.edu
Kelly Williams Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3515 kwillia19@gulfcoast.edu
Top