Menu

Mathematics Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

mathematics Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
 •+*ENC1101, English I 3
 +*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
 •+*MAC2311, Calculus I 4
 +*MAC2312, Calculus II 4
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement—Note core classes below 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement—Note core classes below 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
 +Approved Programming Language 3
 +*MAC2313, Calculus III 4
 +MAP2302, Differential Equations 3
 Students must take a science course designed for science majors, with the accompanying lab.  Select one of the following with the accompanying lab.  •+*PHY2048, University Physics I, 4 crs. (recommended)+PHY2048L, University Physics I Lab, 1 cr. (recommended)•+ BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I, 3 crs.+  BSC2010L, Biology for Science Majors I Lab, 1 cr.•+*CHM1045, General Chemistry, 3 crs.+ CHM1045L, General Chemistry I Lab, 1 cr. •+*PHY2048 or •+*CHM1045 will simultaneously satisfy the Physical Science General Education requirement.•+ BSC2010 will simultaneously satisfy the Biological Science General Education requirement Additional 1-2
Electives
 Electives 10-11
TOTAL DEGREE HOURS 60

Recommended programming language elective:  +COP2224, Introduction to C++ Programming, 3 crs.; or +COP2250, Introduction to Java Programming, 3 crs.; or +*COP2360, Introduction to C# Programming, 3 crs.

Recommended elective:   +STA2023, Statistics, 3 crs.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Mathematics

Our Mission

The Mathematics Division of Gulf Coast State College consists of dedicated educators whose purpose is to provide students with the opportunity to receive the highest quality of mathematics instruction possible. We exist to offer a range of mathematics courses that will prepare students for the next step in their educational, professional, or everyday life.

Mathematics Division Website

Location:
Student Union West Building, RM 286
(above the bookstore)
Phone: 850-747-3229
Fax: 850-767-8252

 Questions, comments? Contact Scott Spencer. 850-747-3229

Mathematics Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Terri Bedford Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2867 tbedford@gulfcoast.edu
Michael Brinegar Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2857 mbrinegar@gulfcoast.edu
Connie Campbell Assistant Professor ext. ccampbel2@gulfcoast.edu
Joseph Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2867 lharris@gulfcoast.edu
Sharon Hudson Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3354 shudson@gulfcoast.edu
Leo Lusk Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2854 llusk@gulfcoast.edu
Riccardo Mensitieri Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5875 rmensitie@gulfcoast.edu
Gene Owens Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5877 kowens@gulfcoast.edu
Hadley Pridgen Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3345 hpridgen@gulfcoast.edu
Angelia Reynolds Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3852 areynolds@gulfcoast.edu
Top