Menu

Chemistry Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Chemistry Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area  CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
+*MAC1140, Pre-Calculus Algebra 3
+*MAC1114, Trigonometry 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+*CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement Below  
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012 or •SYG2000, Psychology/Sociology 3
History EUH1000 or 1001, Western Civilization 3
Government •POS2041, American National Government 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession 3
EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators 3
EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators 3
SPC1608, Introduction to Public Speaking 3
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
+*  CHM1046, Chemistry with Qual. Analysis 3
 CHM1046L, Chemistry with Qual. Anal. Lab 2
Students must select one of the following two-semester sequences•+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I, 3 crs. BSC2010L, Biology of Science Majors I Lab, 1 cr.+*  BSC 2011, Biology for Science Majors II, 3 crs. BSC2011L, Biology of Science Majors II Lab, 1 cr. or •+*PHY2053, College Physics I, 3 crs.+ PHY2053L, College Physics I Lab, 1 cr.+*  PHY2054, College Physics II, 3 crs. PHY2054L, College Physics II Lab, 1 cr. (If students do not take the BSC2010 sequence above, then they must take BSC1005 or approved biology to meet the biology requirement for the A.A.) 8
Elective
Elective 1

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites  and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Lee Gonshor Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3332 lgonshor@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top