Menu

2019-2020 Earth/Space Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
EDF 1005 Intro Teaching Profession 3
MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
EDF 2085 Intro Diversity for Educators 3
ELECTIVE 2
Total 17

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: History 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
MAC 1114 Plane Trigonometry 3
EME 2040 Intro Technology for Teachers 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
GLY 1010 Physical Geology 3
POS 2041 Amer National Government 3
CHM or PHY I or BIO 3
CHM or PHY I or BIO L 1
Total 13

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
OCE 1001 Fundamentals of Oceanography 3
General Education: Literature 3
CHM or PHY II or BIO 3
CHM or PHY II or BIO L 1
SPC 1608 Intro to Public Speaking 3
ELECTIVE 2
Total 15

Program Notes

If students do not take the BSC 2010 sequence above, then they must take BSC1005 or approved biology to meet the biology requirement for the A.A.


Recommended academic map assumes:

  1. Readiness for college-level English
  2. Readiness for Precalculus Algebra
  3. Readiness for Biology for Science Majors I
  4. No previous credit earned

Part-Time Roadmap

Earth/Space Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
+*MAC1140, Pre-Calculus Algebra 3
+*MAC1114, Trigonometry 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science OCE1001, Oceanography 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012 or •SYG2000, Psychology/Sociology 3
History EUH1000 or 1001, Western Civilization 3
Government •POS2041, American National Government 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession 3
EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators 3
EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators 3
SPC1608, Introduction to Public Speaking 3
GLY1010, Geology 3
GLY1010L, Geology Lab 1
Science Elective 2 or 3

Students must select one of the following two-semester sequences

•+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I, 3 crs. BSC2010L, Biology for Science Majors I Lab, 1 cr.+* BSC2011, Biology for Science Majors II, 3 crs. BSC2011L, Biology for Science Majors II Lab, 1 cr.

or

•+*CHM1045, General Chemistry, 3 crs. CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab, 1 cr.+* CHM 1046, Chemistry with Qual. Analysis, 3 crs. CHM1046L, Chemistry with Qual. Anal. Lab, 1 cr.

or

•+*PHY2053, College Physics I, 3 crs.+ PHY2053L, College Physics I Lab, 1 cr.+* PHY2054, College Physics II, 3 crs. PHY2054L, College Physics II Lab, 1 cr.

(If students do not take the BSC2010 sequence above, then they must take BSC1005 or approved biology to meet the biology requirement for the A.A.)

7 or 8

Elective

Elective

1

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Penni Beitzel Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top