Menu

Environmental Science - Policy Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 14

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
MAC 2312 Calculus/Anal Geometry II 4
CHM 1046 Gen Chem & Qual Analysis 3
CHM 1046L Gen Chem & Qual Analysis Lab 2
General Education: History 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
Physics: Choose One. 3
Corresponding Physics Lab 1
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
Total 14-15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Physics: Choose One. 3
Corresponding Physics Lab 1
BSC 2011 Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC 2011L Biology for Sci Majors II Lab 1
ELECTIVES: CONSULT ADVISOR 1-3
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
Total 16-17

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
MAC 2312 Calculus/Anal Geometry II 4
Total 7

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
Total 4

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1046 Gen Chem & Qual Analysis 3
CHM 1047
Total 5

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Physics: Choose One. 3
Corresponding Physics Lab 1
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
Total 8-9

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
Physics: Choose One. 3
Corresponding Physics Lab 1
BSC 2011 Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC 2011L Biology for Sci Majors II Lab 1
Total 8-9

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
General Education: Government 3
ELECTIVES: CONSULT ADVISOR 1-3
Total 7-9

Environmental Science - Policy Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
+*MAC1140, Pre-Calculus Algebra 3
•+*STA2023, Statistics 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+*CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science •+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •ECO2013, Economics, Macro 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
BSC2010L, Biology for Science Maj. I Lab 1
+*BSC2011, Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC2011L, Biology for Science Maj. II Lab 1
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
+*CHM1046, Chemistry with Qual Analysis 3
+*CHM1046L, Chemistry with Qual Anal. Lab 2
•+*PHY2053, College Physics I 3
+*PHY2053L, College Physics I Lab 1
ECO2023, Economics, Micro 3
Electives1
Electives 6

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

1GCSC strongly recommends that EVR1001 be completed before transferring.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Dennis Smith ext. dsmith24@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top