Menu

Forestry Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 17

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
General Education: History 3
PHY 1023 Survey of General Physics 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2011 Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC 2011L Biology for Sci Majors II Lab 1
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
SPC 1608 Intro to Public Speaking 3
ENC 2210 Technical Writing 3
Total 13

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
ELECTIVE 2
Total 8

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
ELECTIVE 3
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
SPC 1608 Intro to Public Speaking 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
PHY 1023 Survey of General Physics 3
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2011 Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC 2011L Biology for Sci Majors II Lab 1
ENC 2210 Technical Writing 3
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
Total 6

Forestry Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*STA2023, Statistics 3
•+*MAC2311, Calculus I 4
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science •+BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
+PHY1023, Survey of General Physics 3
+ENC2210, Technical Writing 3
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
SPC1608, Introduction to Public Speaking 3
BSC2010L, Biology for Science Maj. I Lab 1
+BSC2011, Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC2011L, Biology for Science Maj. II Lab 1
CGS1570, Microcomputer Applications 3
ECO2023, Economics, Micro 3
Electives
Electives 2

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Penni Beitzel Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top