Menu

Health Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
EDF 1015
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
EDF 2085 Intro Diversity for Educators 3
General Education: Physical Science
HSC 2100 Personal/Community Health 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
General Education: History 3
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
ELECTIVE 2
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
EME 2040 Intro Technology for Teachers 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
ELECTIVE 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
EDF 1005 Intro Teaching Profession 3
General Education: Literature 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
EDF 2085 Intro Diversity for Educators 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Physical Science
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2085 Human Anat/Phy I 3
BSC 2085L Human Anat/Phy I Lab 1
ELECTIVE 2
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
EME 2040 Intro Technology for Teachers 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Government 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Year Four

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
HSC 2100 Personal/Community Health 3
HUN 1201 Nutrition Principles 3
Total 6

Health Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
See General Education Requirement 6
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement 3
Biological Science •+ BSC2085, Anatomy and Physiology I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession 3
EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators 3
EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators 3
HSC2100, Personal and Community Health 3
HUN1201, Principles of Nutrition 3
BSC2085L, Anatomy and Physiology Lab 1
Electives
Electives 8

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

Students should coordinate with their advisor to determine which electives will transfer to the four year institution of their choice. Also, students should fulfill the foreign language requirements, if necessary.

Recommended elective:

EEC1701, Child Development, 4 crs.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Dennis Smith ext. dsmith24@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top