Menu

Health Science Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 1105 College Algebra 3
ACG 2001 Financial Accounting I 3
General Education: Government 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
ACG 2011 Financial Accounting II 3
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
ACG 2071 Managerial Accounting 3
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
ECO 2013 Principles of Economics, Macro 3
General Education: History 3
Total 16

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
Approved Biology Course: See Advisor
Approved Biology Lab
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
PSY 2012 General Psychology 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 14

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 1105 College Algebra 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
STA 2023 Statistics 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
PSY 2012 General Psychology 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2001 Financial Accounting I 3
CGS 1570 Microcomputer Applications 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2011 Financial Accounting II 3
ECO 2013 Principles of Economics, Macro 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ACG 2071 Managerial Accounting 3
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
Approved Biology Course: See Advisor
Approved Biology Lab
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Government 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Year Four

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
ELECTIVE 1
Total 4

Health Science Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*MAC1105, College Algebra 3
•+*STA2023, Statistics 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+*CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science See General Education Requirement 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •ECO2013, Economics, Macro 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
*ACG2001, Financial Accounting I 3
+*ACG2011, Financial Accounting II 3
*ACG2071, Managerial Accounting 3
CGS1570, Microcomputer Applications 3
ECO2023, Economics, Micro 3
•PSY2012, Psychology 3
Biological Science Lab 1
CHM1045L, General Chemistry I Lab 1
Electives
Electives 4

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

This program is designed to prepare students for upper division studies in health science at UWF which in turn will prepare them for jobs in a health service field. Concentrations are available in Aging Studies, Allied Health, Communication, Health Care Administration, Health Care Ethics, Health Care Professional, Medical Information Technology, and Psychology of Health.


•General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

 

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Dennis Smith ext. dsmith24@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu
Top