Menu

Meteorology Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Meteorology Option, liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*MAC2311, Calculus I 4
+*MAC2312, Calculus II 4
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+PHY2048, University Physics I 4
Biological Science See General Education Requirement 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
PHY2048L, University Physics I Lab 1
PHY2049, University Physics II 4
PHY2049L, University Physics II Lab 1
Electives
Electives 15

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

Recommended electives:

MET1010, Introduction to Meteorology, 3 crs.

STA2023, Statistics, 3 crs.

MAC2313, Calculus III, 4 crs.

MAP2302, Differential Equations, 3 crs.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Lee Gonshor Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3332 lgonshor@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu

Year One

First Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1101 English Composition I
  • General Education: Mathematics
    MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra
  • General Education: Biological Science

  • MAC 1114 Plane Trigonometry
  • General Education: Government

  • Total 15

Second Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1102 English Composition II
  • General Education: Mathematics
    MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I
  • General Education: Physical Science
    PHY 1023 Survey of General Physics
  • General Education: Visual and Performing Arts

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 16

Year Two

First Semester

  • General Education: Literature

  • MAC 2312 Calculus/Anal Geometry II

  • PHY 2048 University Physics I

  • PHY 2048L University Physics I Lab
  • General Education: Behavioral Science

  • Total 15

Second Semester


  • PHY 2049 University Physics II

  • PHY 2049L University Physics II Lab
  • General Education: History
  • General Education: Philosophy/Religion

  • ELECTIVE 3

  • Total 14
Top