Menu

Middle School Science Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Middle School Science Education Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area 6
See General Education Requirement
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science OCE1001, Oceanography 3
Biological Science •+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
EDF1005, Introduction to the Teaching Profession 3
EDF2085, Introduction to Diversity for Educators 3
EME2040, Introduction to Technology for Educators 3
GLY1010, Geology 3
BSC2010L, Biology for Science Majors I Lab 1
Students must also complete one of the following two‑semester sequences in science:•+*PHY2053/L, College Physics I and Lab (4 crs.) and+*PHY2054/L, College Physics II and Lab (4 crs.)or•+*CHM1045/L, General Chemistry (4 crs.) and+* CHM1046/L, General Chemistry and Qualitative Analysis (5 hrs.) 8-9
Electives
Electives 2-3

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Lee Gonshor Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3332 lgonshor@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu

Year One

First Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1101 English Composition I
  • General Education: Mathematics
    MAC 1105 College Algebra
  • General Education: Physical Science
    GLY 1010 Physical Geology

  • EDF 1005 Intro Teaching Profession
  • General Education: Government

  • Total 15

Second Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1102 English Composition II

  • MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra

  • EDF 2085 Intro Diversity for Educators
  • General Education: Visual and Performing Arts

  • OCE 1001 Fundamentals of Oceanography

  • Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

  • General Education: Literature
  • General Education: Biological Science
    BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I
  • General Education: Biological Science
    BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab
  • Physics or Chemistry
  • Corresponding Lab: See Above

  • ELECTIVE 2-3

  • Total 13-14

Second Semester

  • General Education: Behavioral Science
  • Physics or Chemistry
  • Corresponding Lab: See Above
  • General Education: History
  • General Education: Philosophy/Religion

  • EME 2040 Intro Technology for Teachers

  • Total 16-17
Top