Menu

Oceanography Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Oceanography Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
•+*MAC2311, Calculus I 4
+*MAC2312, Calculus II 4
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science OCE1001, Oceanography 3
Biological Science •+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
BSC2010L, Biology for Science Majors I Lab 1
GLY1010, Geology 3
GLY1010L, Geology Lab 1
•+*CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
•+*PHY2048, University Physics I 4
PHY2048L, University Physics I Lab 1
+COP2200, Fortran Programming 3
ECO2023, Economics, Micro 3
Electives
Electives 2

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Dennis Smith ext. dsmith24@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
OCE 1001 Fundamentals of Oceanography 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 17

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
MAC 2312 Calculus/Anal Geometry II 4
GLY 1010 Physical Geology 3
COP 1000 Intro Prgrm Logic 3
Total 13

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
PHY 2048 University Physics I 4
PHY 2048 University Physics I 4
General Education: Government 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
General Education: History 3
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
MAC 2311 Calculus/Anal Geometry I 4
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
MAC 2312 Calculus/Anal Geometry II 4
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: History 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
CHM 1045 General Chemistry 3
CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory 1
General Education: Behavioral Science 3
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I 3
BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab 1
ELECTIVE 3
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: Government 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
PHY 2048 University Physics I 4
PHY 2048L University Physics I Lab 1
ELECTIVE 2
Total 7

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
GLY 1010 Physical Geology 3
GLY 1010L
COP 1000 Intro Prgrm Logic 3
Total 7

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ECO 2023 Principles of Economics, Micro 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
Total 6
Top