Menu

Optometry Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Optometry Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area
+*MAC1140, Pre-Calculus Algebra 3
+*MAC1114, Trigonometry 3
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science •+*CHM1045, General Chemistry 3
Biological Science •+*BSC2010, Biology for Science Majors I 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences See General Education Requirement 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government See General Education Requirement 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
BSC2010L, Biology for Science Maj. I Lab 1
+*BSC2011, Biology for Science Majors II 3
BSC2011L, Biology for Science Maj. II Lab 1
+*MCB2004, Microbiology 3
MCB2004L, Microbiology Lab 1
CHM1045L, General Chemistry Lab 1
+*CHM1046, Chemistry with Qual. Analysis 3
CHM1046L, Chemistry with Qual. Anal. Lab 2
+*CHM2210, Organic Chemistry I 3
CHM2210L, Organic Chemistry I Lab 2
+Approved Physics 4

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Natural Sciences

We have over 25 different options for an AA degree to choose from. With a faculty of over 13 full time professors, there will always be someone to help answer any questions you have.

Contact the Natural Science division today to begin your journey into the amazing world of Science.

Natural Sciences Division Website

Division Phone Number: 872-3851
Divisions Email: Naturalsciencesgcsc@gulfcoast.edu

Fledia Ellis
Natural Science Chair
Phone: (850)769-1551 ext. 3848
Email: fellis@gulfcoast.edu

Natural Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Nils Akerlind Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2860 nakerlind@gulfcoast.edu
Penni Beitzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2866 pbeitzel@gulfcoast.edu
Jessica Edwards Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6020 jedwards8@gulfcoast.edu
Fledia Ellis Professor (850) 872-3848 ext. 3848 fellis@gulfcoast.edu
Vicky Ellis Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2856 vellis@gulfcoast.edu
Carrie Fioramonti Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4010 cfioramon@gulfcoast.edu
Linda Fitzhugh Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2863 lfitzhugh@gulfcoast.edu
Lee Gonshor Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3332 lgonshor@gulfcoast.edu
Clifford Harris Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2865 charris@gulfcoast.edu
Akiko Nakamura Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5148 anakamura@gulfcoast.edu
Gregory Robinson Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2853 grobinso4@gulfcoast.edu
James Sheetz Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2859 jsheetz@gulfcoast.edu
Jamieson Webb Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2858 jwebb@gulfcoast.edu

Year One

First Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1101 English Composition I
  • General Education: Mathematics
    MAC 1140 Precalculus Algebra
  • General Education: Physical Science
    CHM 1045 General Chemistry
  • General Education: Physical Science
    CHM 1045L General Chemistry Laboratory
  • General Education: Biological Science
    BSC 2010 Biology for Science Majors I
  • General Education: Biological Science
    BSC 2010L Biology for Sci Majors I Lab
  • General Education: Visual and Performing Arts

  • Total 17

Second Semester

  • General Education: Communication
    ENC 1102 English Composition II
  • General Education: Mathematics
    MAC 1114 Plane Trigonometry

  • CHM 1046 Gen Chem & Qual Analysis

  • CHM 1046L Gen Chem & Qual Analysis Lab

  • BSC 2011 Biology for Science Majors II

  • BSC 2011L Biology for Sci Majors II Lab

  • Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

  • General Education: Literature

  • CHM 2210 Organic Chemistry I

  • CHM 2210L Organic Chemistry Laboratory


  • PHY 2053 College Physics I

  • PHY 2053L College Physics I Lab
  • General Education: Government

  • Total 15

Second Semester

  • General Education: Philosophy/Religion

  • MCB 2004 Microbiology

  • MCB 2004L Microbiology Laboratory
  • General Education: History
  • General Education: Behavioral Science

  • Total 13
Top