Menu

Fire Science Technology, A.S.

Fire Science Technology, A.S.

Communications Area  CH
 •+*ENC1101, English I 3
 +*ENC1102, English II or 3+ENC2210, Technical Writing 3
Humanities Area 3
*See General Education Requirement
Mathematics Area/Natural Sciences Area 3
*See General Education Requirement
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences PSY2012 or SYG2000, Psychology/Sociology 3
Major Courses
 SPC1608, Intro. to Public Speaking 3
 3#CET1460, Comp. Applications for Tech.  or    3#CGS1570, Microcomputer Application   3
 #MNA1100, Human Rel. in Management or   GEB1011, Introduction to Business 3
 3#FFP1610, Fire Cause and Arson Detection 3
 1#FFP2810, Firefighting Strat. and Tactics I 3
 3#FFP2700, Fire Department Administration 3
 1,2+FFP1505, Fire Prevention Practices 3
 1+FFP2720, Company Officer 3
 1,2#FFP1540, Fire Protection Systems/Devices 3
 1,2#FFP2120, Building Construction 3
 #FFP1702, Fundamentals of Fire and Emergency Services 3
 Technical Electives Inspection and/or Tactics Courses 12

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

Inspection Courses
  • 2# FFP1510, Building and Fire Codes, 3 crs.
  • 2# FFP2521, Blueprint Reading and Plans Exam, 3 crs.
Tactics Courses
  • # FFP1302, Fire Apparatus Operations, 3 crs.
  • # FFP1301, Firestream Hydraulics, 3 crs.
  • 1# FFP2811, Firefighting Strat. and Tactics II, 3 crs.
Technical Electives
  • Any FFP Fire Science Course
  • # EMS1119, Emergency Medical Technician, 5 crs.
  • # EMS1401, Emergency Med. Tech. Lab, 4 crs.
  • # EMS1335, Emergency Vehicle Operator I, 1 cr.
  • 3# FFP2111, Fire Chemistry, 3 crs.
  • 1# FFP2740, Fire Science Instructor Techniques, 3 crs.
  • 3# FFP1741, Fire Service Course Design, 3 crs.
  • 3# FFP2706, Public Information Officer, 3 crs.
  • 3# FFP2770, Ethical & Legal Issues of
  • the Fire Service, 3 crs.
  • 3# FFP2793, Fire & Life Safety Educator I, 3 crs.
  • FFP1140, 1st Responder, 3 crs.

FFMS (with passing SCE), 3 crs.

FFMS refers to State of Florida Firefighter Minimum Standards Training programs. 

SCE refers to the state certification examinations.

Other training programs will be evaluated by the designated advisor.

 1 = Fire Officer I

2 = Fire Inspector

3 = Fire Officer II


• General Education Core.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

# Applies to A.S. degree and certificate programs.

= PSAV course.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Public Safety Division

The Division of Public Safety is housed on the North Bay Campus. Contact the division’s administrative assistant with general questions related to Public Safety. Contact your program coordinator with specific questions about degree or certificate program requirements. 

Charles Abbott Administrative Building Room # 110
637 Hwy 2300
Panama City, FL 32409
850-872-3878 

Public Safety Division Website

Division of Public Safety Chair
Gregory S. May (gmay@gulfcoast.edu)
850-769-1551, ext. 5601

Public Safety Administrative Assistant
Elizabeth Kelly (ekelley@gulfcoast.edu)
850-769-1551, ext. 5602 

Public Safety Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
John Ammons Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5613 jammons@gulfcoast.edu
Douglas Boortz Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5511 dboortz@gulfcoast.edu
Daniel Finley Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5603 dfinley@gulfcoast.edu
Kevin Granberg Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5606 kgranberg@gulfcoast.edu
Nick Rivera Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5605 nrivera@gulfcoast.edu
Karen Tayes (850) 769-1551 ext. 5632 ktayes@gulfcoast.edu
Top