Menu

Early Childhood Education, A.S.

Early Childhood Education, A.S.

Communications Area CH
 •+*ENC1101, English I 3
Humanities Area  3
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement
Mathematics Area  3
See General Education Requirement
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012, Psychology 3
History EUH1000/EUH1001 Western Civilization I/II 3
Major Courses
 +#EEC1732, Infants, Toddlers, & Caregivers 3
 +EEC2240, Social Studies & Creative Expression for Young Children 3
 +#EEC2223, Art, Music, & Movement for Young Children 3
 +EEC2602, Guiding the Young Child 3
 +EEC2713, Facilitating Social Development 4
 +#EEC1319, Portfolio Development & Supervised Work Experience 4
 EEC1701, Child Development 4
 +EEC1272, Practices for Working with Young Children with   Special Needs in Inclusive Settings 3
 +#EEC2523, Leadership & Management of Child Care Programs 3
 +#EEC2734, Health, Safety, and Nutrition for Young Children 3
 DEP2004, Developmental Psychology 3
 EDF1005, Intro to the Teaching Profession 3
 EDF2085, Intro to Diversity for Educators 3
 EME2040, Intro to Technology for Educators 3
TOTAL DEGREE HOURS 60

• General Education Core.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

# Applies to A.S. degree and certificate programs.

= PSAV course.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Social Sciences

Social Sciences Division
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401-1058
(850) 872-3826

SOCIAL SCIENCES DIVISION CONTACT INFORMATION:

Social Science Division Website

Wes Keene, MS
Division Chair, Social Sciences
Panama City Campus
Social Sciences Building, Room 211
(850) 872-3826

Theresa Vrabel
Senior Administrative Assistant
Panama City Campus
Social Sciences Building, Room 210
(850) 872-3825

Social Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Richard Baldwin Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 6005 rbaldwin@gulfcoast.edu
Patrick Brennan Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2828 pbrennan@gulfcoast.edu
David Fistein Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2826 dfistein@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Hamilton Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5850 jhamilton@gulfcoast.edu
Daniel Hudson Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2833 dhudson@gulfcoast.edu
Wes Keene Associate Professor (850) 872-3826 ext. 3826 wkeene@gulfcoast.edu
Melanie Pelton Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2825 mpelton@gulfcoast.edu
John Phillips Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2827 jpphillips@gulfcoast.edu
Teresa Salter Instructor (850) 769-1551 ext. 3393 tsalter@gulfcoast.edu
Patricia Schenck Associate Professor (850) 873-3577 ext. 3577 pschenck@gulfcoast.edu
Elizabeth Trentanelli Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2831 etrentanelli@gulfcoast.edu
Tara Vannette Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2830 tvannette@gulfcoast.edu
Jason Wenzel Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4817 jwenzel@gulfcoast.edu
Top