Menu

2019-2020 Social Work Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts 3
POS 2041 Amer National Government 3
PSY 2012 General Psychology 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
Major Course: Social Work 3
Major Course: Social Work 3
Total 15

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Physical Science 3
General Education: History 3
SOW 2020 Introduction to Social Work 3
ELECTIVE 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
General Education: Biological Science 3
SOW 2020 Introduction to Social Work 3
ELECTIVE 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 15

Recommended Electives:

SYG 2430, Marriage and Family Living, 3crs

Part-Time Roadmap

Year One

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1101 English Composition I 3
SYG 2000 Principles of Sociology 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
ENC 1102 English Composition II 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Visual and Performing Arts
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Year Two

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Biological Science 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Mathematics 3
General Education: Physical Science
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Government 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Year Three

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
PSY 2012 General Psychology 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Second Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Literature 3
Economics: Choose One 3
Total 6

Summer Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: History 3
Total 6

Year Four

First Semester

Course Number Course Name Credit Hours
General Education: Philosophy/Religion 3
ELECTIVE 3
Total 6

Social Work Option, Liberal Arts A.A.

Communications Area CH
•+*ENC1101, English I 3
+*ENC1102, English II 3
Humanities Area
Visual and Performing Arts See General Education Requirement 3
Philosophy/Religion See General Education Requirement 3
Literature See General Education Requirement 3
Mathematics Area 6
See General Education Requirement
Natural Sciences Area
Physical Science See General Education Requirement 3
Biological Science BSC1005, General Biological Science, BSC2010, or BSC2085 3
Social Sciences Area
Behavioral Sciences •PSY2012, Psychology 3
History See General Education Requirement 3
Government •POS2041, American National Government 3
Additional Common Prerequisites
•ECO2013, Economics, Macro or ECO2023, Economics, Micro 3
•SYG2000, Principles of Sociology or SYG2010, Social Problems 3
Electives
Electives 18

TOTAL DEGREE HOURS

60

FSU requires all Social Work students to have a minimum grade of “B” in SYG2000, PSY2012, POS2041, BSC1005, and ECO2013/2023 for entry into the Social Work program. FSU also requires a computer literacy course for entry into the program, as CGS1570.

Recommended elective:

SOW2020, Introduction to Social Work, 3 crs.
SYG2430, Marriage and Family Living, 3 crs.


• General Education Core. Students must complete at least one identified core course in each area of study—Communications, Humanities, Mathematics, Natural Sciences, and Social Sciences—as part of the general education course requirements.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required. See course descriptions.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

Social Sciences

Social Sciences Division
5230 West Highway 98
Panama City, FL 32401-1058
(850) 872-3826

SOCIAL SCIENCES DIVISION CONTACT INFORMATION:

Social Science Division Website

Wes Keene, MS
Division Chair, Social Sciences
Panama City Campus
Social Sciences Building, Room 211
(850) 872-3826

Theresa Vrabel
Senior Administrative Assistant
Panama City Campus
Social Sciences Building, Room 210
(850) 872-3825

Social Sciences Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Patrick Brennan Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2828 pbrennan@gulfcoast.edu
David Fistein Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2826 dfistein@gulfcoast.edu
Jennifer Hamilton Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 5850 jhamilton@gulfcoast.edu
Ryan Hubbard Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2834 rhubbard2@gulfcoast.edu
Daniel Hudson Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2833 dhudson@gulfcoast.edu
Melanie Pelton Assistant Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2825 mpelton@gulfcoast.edu
John Phillips Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2827 jpphillips@gulfcoast.edu
Patricia Schenck Professor (850) 873-3577 ext. 3577 pschenck@gulfcoast.edu
Elizabeth Trentanelli Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 2831 etrentanelli@gulfcoast.edu
Jason Wenzel Associate Professor (850) 769-1551 ext. 4817 jwenzel@gulfcoast.edu
Top