Menu

Florida Child Care Professional Credential (FCCPC) – Certificate

 

FLORIDA CHILD CARE PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL (FCCPC) - CERTIFICATE

At Gulf Coast State College, you can help infants and young children grow and develop with the 11 credit-hour Florida Child Care Professional Credential (FCCPC). The program provides you with the knowledge base and professional skills necessary to teach children from birth to five years of age.  Early education and care programs include pre-kindergarten programs across the state of Florida. 

The Florida Department of Children and Families authorizes and oversees all FCCPC programs (formerly CDA).  Gulf Coast State College is a Florida Department of Children and Families FCCPC-approved provider.

FCCPC courses are embedded in the Early Childhood Education AS degree and are offered every semester. 

FCCPC COURSE REQUIREMENTS:

For more information concerning required classes go to the Course Requirements  webpage and click on "requirements".

For more information go to the ECE Webpage
Early Childhood Education

 

Apply Now

 
 
 

TERESA SALTER, M.Ed.

Teresa Salter

The FCCPC Certificate program allows you the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of children, while reaching your own individual career goals.
– Assistant Academic Program Coordinator
 

WHAT JOBS CAN YOU GET BY COMPLETING THE FCCPC Certificate?

  • Child Development Center Teacher
  • Home Visitor
  • Early Intervention Associate
  • Child Development Center Curriculum Coordinator

HOW MUCH CAN YOU EARN with your FCCPC CERTIFICATE?

  • According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the national median pay for childcare workers in 2014 was $20,320 per year.

  • The Occupational Outlook Handbook gives you more information about job types and salaries.
 

ARE THERE ANY SPECIAL ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS FOR THE FCCPC PROGRAM?

You must be at least 18 years of age upon entry into the program and have a high school diploma or equivalent. You  should also be aware that the state of Florida requires a thorough background check by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) prior to you entering the classroom for observation.  The College requires you to submit written verification of your approved and completed background check before you may complete on-site course requirements. You will have to go to the district in which you are completing observations and comply with the requirements of that system. You will be required to pay a fee for the cost of the background check.

HOW DO I APPLY TO THE FLORIDA CHILD CARE PROFESSIONAL CREDENTIAL, C.T. PROGRAM?

To apply, you’ll need to complete the general admission application to Gulf Coast State College.  Visit the Gulf Coast admissions page to learn more about the application process.

Consult the Gulf Coast State College Catalog for specific program and course information.

HOW DO I REGISTER FOR MY CLASSES?

Check out the class registration dates and plan your schedule today.

HOW DO I APPLY FOR FINANCIAL AID AND SCHOLARSHIPS?

There are many options available to help you pay for college. Find out more about  scholarships and financial aid at Gulf Coast State College.

Program Requirements

Courses  CH
 EEC1701, Child Development 4
 +EEC2240, Social Studies and Creative Expression For Young Children 3
 +#EEC1319, Portfolio Development and Supervised Work Experience 4
TOTAL DEGREE HOURS 11

• General Education Core.

+ Prerequisites and/or corequisites required.  See course descriptions.

# Applies to A.S. degree and certificate programs.

= PSAV course.

* Minimum grade of "C" required.

 

CONTACT ECE ADVISOR
STUDENT's LAST NAME: A-L

Teresa Salter
Assistant Academic Program Coordinator
Social Science Building, Room 229
850-769-1551, extension 3393

tsalter@gulfcoast.edu 

Visit my faculty page

CONTACT ECE ADVISOR
STudent's LAST NAME: M-Z

Patricia Schenck
Academic Program Coordinator
Social Science Building, Room 227
850-873-3577

pschenck@gulfcoast.edu

Visit my faculty page

Apply Now

Top